College of Arts and Sciences

Robert W. Evans College of Arts and Sciences Center

203-582-8730 (Central Office)

Administrative Offices

Title Name Phone Email
Dean Robert Smart 203-582-8730 Robert.Smart@qu.edu
Associate Dean Mary Paddock 203-582-8951 Mary.Paddock@qu.edu
Associate Dean Diane Stock 203-582-6423 Diane.Stock@qu.edu
Associate Dean Wesley Renfro 203-582-7372 Wesley.Renfro@qu.edu
Director of Student Advising Jonathan Lee 203-582-7376 Jonathan.Lee@qu.edu
Director of Career Development Rick DelVecchio 203-582-3998 Rick.Delvecchio@qu.edu

Departments/Programs

Department Chairperson Phone Email
Biological Sciences Lise Thomas 203-582-8497 Lise.Thomas@qu.edu
Chemistry and Physical Sciences Carol Fenn 203-582-8254 Carol.Fenn@qu.edu
Economics Donn Johnson 203-582-8205 Donn.Johnson@qu.edu
English Patricia Comitini 203-582-8253 Patricia.Comitini@qu.edu
History David Valone 203-582-5269 David.Valone@qu.edu
Independent Major Mary Paddock 203-582-8951 Mary.Paddock@qu.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies Mary Paddock 203-582-8951 Mary.Paddock@qu.edu
Legal Studies Jill E. Martin 203-582-8712 Jill.Martin@qu.edu
Mathematics Cornelius Nelan 203-582-8003 Cornelius.Nelan@qu.edu
Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures Luis Arata 203-582-8658 Luis.Arata@qu.edu
Philosophy and Political Science Scott McLean 203-582-8686 Scott.McLean@qu.edu
Psychology Anne Eisbach 203-582-8455 Anne.Eisbach@qu.edu
Behavioral Neuroscience
Adrienne Betz 203-582-5259 Adrienne.Betz@qu.edu
Sociology, Criminal Justice and Anthropology Catherine Richards Solomon 203-582-5264 Catherine.Solomon@qu.edu
Criminal Justice
Alan S. Bruce 203-582-8458 Alan.Bruce@qu.edu
Gerontology
Catherine Richards Solomon 203-582-5264 Catherine.Solomon@qu.edu
Visual and Performing Arts George Sprengelmeyer 203-582-6426 George.Sprengelmeyer@qu.edu
Game Design and Development
Greg Garvey 203-582-8389 Greg.Garvey@qu.edu
Theater
Kevin Daly 203-582-3500 Kevin.Daly@qu.edu

Minors and Other Programs

Program Name Phone Email
Anthropology Hillary Haldane 203-582-3822 Hillary.Haldane@qu.edu
Applied Statistics and Data Science Jill Shahverdian 203-582-3663 Jill.Shahverdian@qu.edu
Asian Studies Nita Prasad 203-582-3729 Nita.Prasad@qu.edu
Biology Lisa Kaplan 203-582-3588 Lisa.Kaplan@qu.edu
Dispute Resolution Jill E. Martin 203-582-8712 Jill.Martin@qu.edu
Fine Arts Stephen Henderson 203-582-3751 Stephen.Henderson@qu.edu
Global Public Health David Hill 203-582-3944 David.Hill@qu.edu
History and Philosophy of Science Rebecca Bamford 203-582-3722 Rebecca.Bamford@qu.edu
International Studies Sean Duffy 203-582-8324 Sean.Duffy@qu.edu
Irish Studies Christine Kinealy 203-582-4564 Christine.Kinealy@qu.edu
Middle Eastern Studies Nita Prasad 203-582-3729 Nita.Prasad@qu.edu
Music George Sprengelmeyer 203-582-6426 George.Sprengelmeyer@qu.edu
Prehealth Advising Anna Gilmore 203-582-8874 Anna.Gilmore@qu.edu
Prelaw Advising Lisa Bartone 203-582-7207 Lisa.Bartone@qu.edu
Psychology Paul LoCasto 203-582-3725 Paul.LoCasto@qu.edu
Sports Studies Michael Sheehan 203-582-6439 Michael.Sheehan@qu.edu
Women's and Gender Studies Jennifer Sacco 203-582-8972 Jennifer.Sacco@qu.edu

For a complete list of minors, please see Minors.

Graduate Programs

Program Name Phone Email
MS in Molecular and Cell Biology Lise Thomas 203-582-8497 Lise.Thomas@qu.edu

Dual-Degree Programs

Program Name Phone Email
Accelerated Dual-Degree Bachelor's/JD (3+3) Lisa Bartone 203-582-7207 Lisa.Bartone@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree Bachelor's/MSW (3+2) Catherine Solomon 203-582-5264 Catherine.Solomon@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree BA in Theater/MBA (3+1) Kevin Daly 203-582-3500 Kevin.Daly@qu.edu
Dual-Degree BA/MBA (4+1) Lisa Braiewa 203-582-3710 Lisa.Braiewa@qu.edu
Dual-Degree BA/MAT or BS/MAT in Elementary Education (4+1) Christina Pavlak 203-582-3192 Christina.Pavlak@qu.edu
Dual-Degree BA/MAT or BS/MAT in Secondary Education (4+1) Christina Pavlak 203-582-3192 Christina.Pavlak@qu.edu
Dual-Degree BS/MS in Molecular and Cell Biology Lise Thomas 203-582-8497 Lise.Thomas@qu.edu

General Requirements

The requirements for the bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees are qualitative and quantitative. Completion of 120 credits with a grade point average of C or better is not in itself sufficient to qualify for graduation. In addition to the general Quinnipiac requirements, eligibility for most bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees also requires the satisfactory completion of both arts and sciences requirements and those in a major or field of concentration. Specific major requirements are noted below under the individual departmental or area descriptions. Students should be cautioned that an average of C, or 2.0, in the student’s major is a minimum requirement for each major and that some departments may require higher standards as noted.

Of the 120 credits required for the bachelor’s degree, only 6 credits of workshop courses and/or physical education courses may be applied. Primary responsibility for knowing and completing all course requirements rests with the student.

College of Arts and Sciences Curriculum

The College of Arts and Sciences offers bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees.  Students earning either degree must complete one foreign language through the 102-level, and all students are encouraged to pursue a balanced program of study.

In addition, students earning a bachelor of arts degree must fulfill separate requirements for breadth and depth of study. For the breadth requirement, students must complete at least 3 credits in each of the four CAS disciplinary areas other than the area of the student’s major. These areas are fine arts, humanities, natural sciences and social sciences. For the depth requirement, students must complete at least 9 credits within a single subject area other than that of the major. (A “subject area” is here identified with a catalog subject code, such as PL, CJ, WS, MA, etc.) A course taken to fulfill the CAS breadth requirement may not also fulfill any UC requirement.

A student enrolled in the Dual-Degree BA or BS/JD (3+3) program is exempt from these College of Arts and Sciences requirements, with the exception of the foreign language requirement. A student pursuing a double major is likewise exempt from these College of Arts and Sciences requirements, with the exception of the foreign language requirement.

Academic Advising

The College of Arts and Sciences has a program that places every student, upon matriculation, with an individual faculty adviser who can best help him or her form a personalized academic plan. An outcome of each academic adviser’s individualized guidance is that students come to understand the relationship between a particular discipline and a range of satisfying careers. Students also learn how an arts and sciences major can prepare them especially well for a life of consequence and meaning. Although the primary responsibility for setting academic goals and selecting courses rests with the student, the academic adviser fosters an ongoing conversation that cultivates self-reflection and development.

Students who enter the College of Arts and Sciences with a declared major are matched with a faculty adviser in that department. Each undeclared student works individually with an academic adviser to design a plan that is uniquely tailored to his or her needs and interests. During the preregistration period each semester, all students in arts and sciences meet with their academic advisers before selecting and registering for courses.

Career Development

In the College of Arts and Sciences, the career development office works with students to create and navigate a personalized career development program including major choice, personal branding, resume and LinkedIn development, networking, job search, professional development opportunities and graduate school advisement. Students can gain valuable work experience and explore career options through participation in credit-bearing experiential learning opportunities, including internships, research projects, shadowing, community service and part-time and summer employment.

Degrees in Arts and Sciences

Bachelor’s Degrees

The College of Arts and Sciences offers bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees.

Collaborative for Interdisciplinary/Integrative Studies

The Collaborative for Interdisciplinary/Integrative Studies affords students opportunities through advising, course work and fieldwork to put into practice the relevance and value of the arts and sciences for their everyday lives.

Independent Majors                   

The College of Arts and Sciences offers independent majors. A student may design a unique major program to fit his or her individual goals. The responsibility for the planning of such a program rests with the student proposing it, a proposal for an independent major must contain suitable justification and a coherent curricular plan. The proposal must be submitted to the dean for approval and also must have the approval of a three-member faculty committee, chosen by the student, which will work with the student to plan the program. Independent major proposals should be submitted no later than the first semester of the junior year. Independent majors must include at least 24 credits of course work at the 300 level or above, as well as a capstone project or final evaluation project.

Graduate Degrees

Master’s Degree in Molecular and Cell Biology

The Master's Degree in Molecular and Cell Biology is a two-year program for students who have already earned their bachelor’s degree in a biological, medical or scientific field. The mission of the Department of Biological Sciences is to prepare students for employment in research fields available in pharmaceutical companies, universities and hospitals as well as to provide an excellent foundation for students intending to pursue studies in professional health care fields and doctoral programs.

Dual Degrees

The College of Arts and Sciences offers several dual-degree programs allowing highly motivated students to connect undergraduate studies directly to graduate degrees and professional preparation.

Minors

In addition to major programs, a student may apply to have a minor recorded on his or her transcript. The College of Arts and Sciences offers minors in most of the subjects offering a major as well as a variety of interdisciplinary minors. Arts and sciences students may complete a minor in one of the other schools to explore areas of interest in a preprofessional field while still obtaining the benefits of a flexible arts and sciences education. Students interested in a minor may consult the department chairperson or the faculty member listed for information/advising.

For a complete list of minors, please see Minors.

Mission Statement

The faculty and students of the College of Arts and Sciences share a belief in the value of a comprehensive college education—an education that requires foundational study in the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities and fine arts, as well as a concentration in one of 20 majors. A degree in arts and sciences helps students build fulfilling and meaningful lives and is a strong basis for a preprofessional education. Careers in the 21st century require great creativity, critical thinking and fine writing. The ability to think is more important than any narrow job preparation. The arts and sciences curricula require demanding study while providing extensive faculty support in small classes and laboratories.

Whether a student is pursuing a bachelor of science or bachelor of arts degree, he or she is part of a learning community in which students and faculty are makers of knowledge, not simply receivers and dispensers. Faculty and students study and experience a society increasingly defined by global, scientific and cultural awareness and a diversity of populations. The course of study provides ample opportunity for students to participate in internships that help to bridge their education and its application. The college also offers several combined programs that connect undergraduate studies directly to graduate degrees and professional preparation. Most importantly, students in the arts and sciences engage in an exciting, well-rounded program of study that is both fulfilling and rewarding.

Admission Requirements: College of Arts and Sciences

The requirements for admission into the undergraduate College of Arts and Sciences programs are the same as those for admission to Quinnipiac University.

Admission to the university is competitive, and applicants are expected to present a strong college prep program in high school. Prospective freshmen are strongly encouraged to file an application as early in the senior year as possible, and arrange to have first quarter grades sent from their high school counselor as soon as they are available.

For detailed admission requirements, including required documents, please visit the Admissions page of this catalog.

Transfer Requirements

Transfer students should apply for admission by mid-November for the Spring (January) semester, or by April 1 for fall (August) entry. Official transcripts from all institutions attended must be provided. Most programs look for a minimum grade point average of 2.5 (some higher) for consideration.

Quinnipiac normally grants transfer credit for courses appropriate to the chosen curriculum, completed with a grade of C or better, at a regionally accredited post-secondary institution.

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Science

Dual-Degrees

Accelerated Dual-Degree Bachelor's/JD (3+3)

Accelerated Dual-Degree Bachelor's/MSW (3+2)

Accelerated Dual-Degree BA/MBA in Theater (3+1)

Dual-Degree BA/MAT or BS/MAT in Elementary Education (4+1)

Dual-Degree BA/MAT or BS/MAT in Secondary Education (4+1)

Dual-Degree BA/MBA (4+1)

Accelerated Dual-Degree BS/MS in Molecular and Cell Biology (3+1)

Dual-Degree BS/MS in Molecular and Cell Biology (4+1)

Minors