College of Arts and Sciences

Robert W. Evans College of Arts and Sciences Center

203-582-7360 (Central Office)

Administrative Offices

Title Name Phone Email
Dean Adam Roth 203-582-7794 adam.roth@qu.edu
Assistant Dean Melanie Burkett 203-582-7376 melanie.burkett@qu.edu
Associate Dean Diane Stock 203-582-6423 diane.stock@qu.edu
Associate Dean Wesley Renfro 203-582-7372 wesley.renfro@qu.edu
Director of Career Development Rick DelVecchio 203-582-3998 rick.delvecchio@qu.edu

Departments/Programs

Department Chairperson Phone Email
Biological Sciences Deborah Clark 203-582-8270 deborah.clark@qu.edu
Chemistry and Physical Sciences Carol Fenn 203-582-8254 carol.fenn@qu.edu
Economics Donn Johnson 203-582-8205 donn.johnson@qu.edu
English Valerie Smith 203-582-8452 valerie.smith@qu.edu
History David Valone 203-582-5269 david.valone@qu.edu
Independent Major Hillary Haldane 203-582-3822 Hillary.Haldane@quinnipiac.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies Jill Fehleison 203-582-8558 Jill.Fehleison@quinnipiac.edu
Legal Studies Michelle D. Miller 203-582-3231 michelle.miller@qu.edu
Mathematics and Statistics Cornelius Nelan 203-582-8003 cornelius.nelan@qu.edu
Data Science
Jill Shahverdian 203-582-3663 jill.shahverdian@qu.edu
Modern Languages, Literatures and Cultures Aileen Dever 203-582-8500 aileen.dever@qu.edu
Philosophy and Political Science Jennifer Sacco 203-582-8972 jennifer.sacco@qu.edu
Psychology Paul LoCasto 203-582-3725 paul.locasto@qu.edu
Behavioral Neuroscience
Adrienne Betz 203-582-5259 adrienne.betz@qu.edu
Sociology, Criminal Justice and Anthropology Alan S. Bruce 203-582-8458 alan.bruce@qu.edu
Criminal Justice
Stephen McGuinn 203-582-8415 stephen.mcguinn@qu.edu
Gerontology
Catherine Richards Solomon 203-582-5264 catherine.solomon@qu.edu
Sociology
Keith Kerr 203-582-3810 keith.kerr@qu.edu
Visual and Performing Arts George Sprengelmeyer 203-582-6426 george.sprengelmeyer@qu.edu
Game Design and Development
Elena Bertozzi 203-582-7998 elena.bertozzi@qu.edu
Theater
Kevin Daly 203-582-3500 kevin.daly@qu.edu

Minors and Other Programs

Program Name Phone Email
Anthropology Jaime Ullinger 203-582-6428 jaime.ullinger@qu.edu
Applied Statistics and Data Science Jill Shahverdian 203-582-3663 jill.shahverdian@qu.edu
Asian Studies Nita Prasad 203-582-3729 nita.prasad@qu.edu
Biology Lisa Kaplan 203-582-3588 lisa.kaplan@qu.edu
Fine Arts Stephen Henderson 203-582-3751 stephen.henderson@qu.edu
Global Public Health David Hill 203-582-3944 david.hill@qu.edu
History and Philosophy of Science Anat Biletzki 203-582-3930 anat.biletzki@qu.edu
Independent Minor Mary Paddock 203-582-8951 mary.paddock@qu.edu
International Studies Sean Duffy 203-582-8324 sean.duffy@qu.edu
Irish Studies Christine Kinealy 203-582-4564 christine.kinealy@qu.edu
Middle Eastern Studies Nita Prasad 203-582-3729 nita.prasad@qu.edu
Music George Sprengelmeyer 203-582-6426 george.sprengelmeyer@qu.edu
Prehealth Advising Anna Gilmore 203-582-8874 anna.gilmore@qu.edu
Prelaw Advising Lisa Bartone 203-582-7207 lisa.bartone@qu.edu
Psychology Bill Jellison 203-582-3724 william.jellison@qu.edu
Spanish Aileen C. Dever 203-582-8500 aileen.dever@qu.edu
Sports Studies Michael Sheehan 203-582-6439 michael.sheehan@qu.edu
Women's and Gender Studies Lauren Sardi 203-582-8215 lauren.sardi@qu.edu

For a complete list of minors, please see Minors.

Graduate Programs

Program Name Phone Email
MS in Molecular and Cell Biology Alexandre de Lencastre 203-582-5024 alexandre.delencastre@qu.edu

Dual-Degree Programs

Program Name Phone Email
Accelerated Dual-Degree Bachelor's/JD (3+3) Lisa Bartone 203-582-7207 lisa.bartone@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree Bachelor's/MSW (3+2) Catherine Solomon 203-582-5264 catherine.solomon@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree BA in Theater/MBA (3+1) Kevin Daly 203-582-3500 kevin.daly@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree BS in Biochemistry/MS in Molecular and Cell Biology (3+1) Robert Collins 203-582-6407 robert.collins@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree BS in Biology/MS in Molecular and Cell Biology (3+1) Deborah Clark 203-582-8270 deborah.clark@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree BS in Economics/MS in Accounting (3+1) Donn Johnson 203-582-8205 donn.johnson@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree BS in Economics/MS in Business Analytics (3+1) Donn Johnson 203-582-8205 donn.johnson@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree BS in Economics/MS in Journalism (3+1) Donn Johnson 203-582-8205 donn.johnson@qu.edu
Accelerated Dual-Degree BS in Economics/MBA (3+1) Donn Johnson 203-582-8205 donn.johnson@qu.edu
Dual-Degree BA/MAT or BS/MAT in Elementary Education (4+1) Christina Pavlak 203-582-3192 christina.pavlak@qu.edu
Dual-Degree BA/MAT or BS/MAT in Secondary Education (4+1) Christina Pavlak 203-582-3192 christina.pavlak@qu.edu
Dual-Degree BA/MBA (4+1) D'Lisa McKee 203-582-7913 dlisa.mckee@qu.edu
Dual-Degree BS/MS in Molecular and Cell Biology (4+1) Deborah Clark 203-582-8270 deborah.clark@qu.edu

General Requirements

The requirements for the bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees are qualitative and quantitative. Completion of 120 credits with a grade point average of C or better is not in itself sufficient to qualify for graduation. In addition to the general Quinnipiac requirements, eligibility for most bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees requires the satisfactory completion of both arts and sciences requirements and those in a major or field of concentration. Specific major requirements are noted below under the individual departmental or area descriptions. Students should be cautioned that an average of C, or 2.0, in the student’s major is a minimum requirement for each major and that some departments may require higher standards as noted.

Of the 120 credits required for the bachelor’s degree, only 6 credits of workshop courses and/or physical education courses may be applied. Primary responsibility for knowing and completing all course requirements rests with the student.

College of Arts and Sciences Curriculum

The College of Arts and Sciences offers bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees. As the home of the liberal arts at Quinnipiac, CAS encourages students to pursue a balanced program of study across multiple disciplines. In pursuit of that goal, CAS imposes additional requirements beyond the University Curriculum.

All CAS students (both bachelor of science and bachelor of arts) must complete one foreign language through the 102-level. Foreign language classes may also count toward the UC Personal Inquiry II requirement.

Additionally, students earning a bachelor of arts must fulfill separate requirements for breadth and depth of study:

For the breadth requirement, students must complete at least 3 credits in each of the four CAS disciplinary areas other than the area of the student’s major. These areas are: fine arts, humanities, natural sciences and social sciences. For example, a student majoring in political science—a social science discipline—would complete at least 3 credits each in fine arts, humanities and natural science. A course taken to fulfill the CAS breadth requirement may not simultaneously fulfill any UC requirement.

For the depth requirement, students must complete at least 9 credits within a single subject area other than that of the major. (A “subject area” is identified with a catalog subject code, such as PL, CJ, WS, MA, etc.) CAS depth courses may also count toward UC requirements.

Students pursuing a bachelor of science, a double major, or certain accelerated degree programs are exempt from the CAS breadth and depth requirements, but must complete the foreign language requirement.

Academic Advising

The College of Arts and Sciences places every student, upon matriculation, with an individual faculty adviser who can best help him or her form a personalized academic plan. An outcome of each academic adviser’s individualized guidance is that students come to understand the relationship between a particular discipline and a range of satisfying careers. Students also learn how an arts and sciences major can prepare them especially well for a life of consequence and meaning. Although the primary responsibility for setting academic goals and selecting courses rests with the student, the academic adviser fosters an ongoing conversation that cultivates self-reflection and development.

Students who enter the College of Arts and Sciences with a declared major are matched with a faculty adviser in that department. Each undeclared student works individually with an academic adviser to design a plan that is uniquely tailored to his or her needs and interests. During the preregistration period each semester, all students in arts and sciences meet with their academic advisers before selecting and registering for courses.

Career Development

In the College of Arts and Sciences, the career development office works with students to create and navigate a personalized career development program including major choice, personal branding, resume and LinkedIn development, networking, job search, professional development opportunities and graduate school advisement. Students can gain valuable work experience and explore career options through participation in credit-bearing experiential learning opportunities, including internships, research projects, shadowing, community service and part-time and summer employment.

Degrees in Arts and Sciences

Bachelor’s Degrees

The College of Arts and Sciences offers bachelor of arts and bachelor of science degrees.

Collaborative for Interdisciplinary/Integrative Studies

The Collaborative for Interdisciplinary/Integrative Studies affords students opportunities through advising, coursework and fieldwork to put into practice the relevance and value of the arts and sciences for their everyday lives. It houses the Environmental Science major, Environmental Studies co-major, the Interdisciplinary Studies major, the Independent major, the Sustainability and Environmental Policy major, the Independent minor, and eight interdisciplinary minors (Asian Studies, Global Public Health, History and Philosophy of Science, International Studies, Irish Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Sports Studies, and Women's and Gender Studies).

Independent Major               

A student may design a unique major program to fit his or her individual goals. The responsibility for the planning of such a program rests with the student proposing it. A proposal for an independent major must contain suitable justification and a coherent curricular plan. The full proposal must be submitted to the dean for approval  and also must have the approval of a three-member faculty committee, chosen by the student, which will work with the student to plan the program. Independent major proposals must be submitted no later than the first semester of the junior year. Independent majors must include at least 24 credits of coursework at the 300 level or above, as well as a capstone project or final evaluation project that is outlined in the proposal.

Graduate Degrees

Master’s Degree in Molecular and Cell Biology

The Master's Degree in Molecular and Cell Biology is a two-year program for students who have already earned their bachelor’s degree in a biological, medical or scientific field. The mission of the Department of Biological Sciences is to prepare students for employment in research fields available in pharmaceutical companies, universities and hospitals as well as to provide an excellent foundation for students intending to pursue studies in professional health care fields and doctoral programs.

Dual Degrees

The College of Arts and Sciences offers several dual-degree programs allowing highly motivated students to connect undergraduate studies directly to graduate degrees and professional preparation.

Minors

In addition to major programs, a student may apply to have a minor recorded on his or her transcript. The College of Arts and Sciences offers minors in most of the subjects offering a major as well as a variety of interdisciplinary minors and an Independent Minor. Arts and sciences students may complete a minor in one of the other schools to explore areas of interest in a pre-professional field while still obtaining the benefits of a flexible arts and sciences education. Students interested in a minor may consult the department chairperson or the faculty member listed for information/advising.

For a complete list of College of Arts and Science minors, please see Minors.