School of Health Sciences

Center for Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences

North Haven Campus

Echlin Center, second floor, Mount Carmel Campus

203-582-8710 (central office)

Administrative Offices

Title Name Phone Email
Dean William Kohlhepp 203-582-5226 William.Kohlhepp@qu.edu
Senior Associate Dean Betsey C. Smith 203-582-8327 Betsey.Smith@qu.edu
Associate Dean Shelley L. Candler 203-582-3650 Shelley.Candler@qu.edu
Assistant Dean for Career Development Cynthia Christie 203-582-3656 Cynthia.Christie@qu.edu
Assistant Dean for Student Services Colleen A. Thompson 203-582-8118 Colleen.Thompson@qu.edu
Coordinator of Fitness, Leisure and Wellness Debora H. Lavigne 203-582-7943 Debora.Lavigne@qu.edu

Departments/Programs

Undergraduate Programs

Program Name Phone Email
Athletic Training Stephen Straub 203-582-8443 Stephen.Straub@qu.edu
Biomedical Sciences
Biomedical Sciences
Thomas Martin 203-582-3368 Thomas.Martin@qu.edu
Health Science Studies
Christine G. Fitzgerald 203-582-8688 Chris.Fitzgerald@qu.edu
Microbiology and Immunology
Thomas Martin 203-582-3368 Thomas.Martin@qu.edu
Diagnostic Imaging Lenn Johns 203-582-6205 lennart.johns@qu.edu
Diagnostic Medical Sonography
Marisa Hale 203-582-8264 Marisa.Hale@qu.edu
Radiologic Sciences
Alicia Giaimo 203-582-3814 Alicia.Giaimo@qu.edu

Dual-Degree Programs

Program Name Phone Email
BS in Health Science Studies/MSW (3+2) Christine Fitzgerald 203-582-8688 Christine.Fitzgerald@qu.edu
BS/MHS in Biomedical Sciences (concentration in Medical Sciences & Microbiology) Thomas Martin 203-582-3368 Thomas.Martin@qu.edu
Entry-Level Master’s Physician Assistant Laurie Seeger 203-582-3882 Laurie.Seeger@qu.edu
Occupational Therapy Salvador Bondoc 203-582-3727 Salvador.Bondoc@qu.edu
BSHS-MOT Occupational Therapy
Roseanna Tufano 203-582-5363 Roseanna.Tufano@qu.edu
Physical Therapy BS/DPT Katherine Harris 203-582-8511 Katherine.Harris@qu.edu

Graduate Programs

Program Name Phone Email
Master of Health Sciences
Advanced Medical Imaging and Leadership
John Candler 203-582-6205 John.Candler@qu.edu
Cardiovascular Perfusion
Michael J. Smith 203-582-3427 Michael.Smith@qu.edu
Biomedical Sciences
Dwayne Boucaud 203-582-3768 Dwayne.Boucaud@qu.edu
Pathologists' Assistant
Robert Cottrell 203-582-8456 Robert.Cottrell@qu.edu
Physician Assistant
Dennis Brown 203-582-3708 Dennis.Brown2@qu.edu
Radiologist Assistant
John Candler 203-582-6205 John.Candler@qu.edu
Master of Social Work Stephanie Jacobson 203-582-8907 Stephanie.Jacobson@qu.edu

Post-Professional Programs

Program Name Phone Email
Occupational Therapy
Online Occupational Therapy Doctorate (OTD)
Barbara Nadeau 203-582-8691 Barbara.Nadeau@qu.edu

Career Development

In the School of Health Sciences, the assistant dean for career development works with students to explore majors and career interests through individual consultations and group sessions, and guides them through a career development process. Assistance is provided with resume and cover letter writing, interview preparation, conducting a job search and graduate school applications. Students can participate in experiential learning through community service as well as internships, part-time and summer employment. A health professions career fair is held every spring at the North Haven Campus.

Fitness, Leisure and Wellness

Quinnipiac’s School of Health Sciences offers courses that promote and encourage personal growth in the areas of fitness, leisure and wellness. In keeping with the school’s mission, the courses are dedicated and focused on the development of the entire person with the goal of encouraging the essential habits of lifetime fitness, leisure and wellness. Classes take place on both the Mount Carmel and York Hill campuses, as well as at off-campus locations. See FLW course descriptions for a detailed list of offerings.

Additional Requirements

Academic programs with clinical components use multiple clinical education centers. Students are responsible for their transportation to and from these clinical agencies.

Background Checks

Students should be aware that certain clinical sites or internship locations may require a criminal background check before a student is placed in the clinic or intern site. The university has procedures to assist students in obtaining such a background check. The cost of the background check is the responsibility of each individual student.

Technical Standards for Admission

Students admitted to all programs in the School of Health Sciences must be able to meet their program’s technical standards and or essential functions. Technical standards are developed by accreditation agencies and organizations to establish the essential qualities and standards considered necessary to achieve the skills, knowledge and competencies for entry-level practice. Information on technical standards and essential functions may be found in the catalog, on the website or by contacting the individual program chairperson.

Academic Good Standing

All undergraduate and graduate students in the School of Health Sciences are expected to maintain the required minimum GPA set forth by their respective program of study (if applicable). Each program may have additional benchmarks that must be met to progress within the program of study.  The student should refer to the program’s description in the Quinnipiac University Catalog and to the program’s student handbook (if applicable) for clarification for what is required to maintain his/her status within the program.

At the end of each semester, the program directors will compile a list of students who are deficient in meeting academic or clinical/professional achievement requirements. Utilizing the review process established by his/her program, the student will be notified via email of his/her status in the program. Deficient students may be: a) placed on probation, b) suspended or c) dismissed. Students placed on probation remain in their program but in order to progress, must meet the performance standards specified in their probation notification letter. For further clarification please see the Program Level Academic Good Standing Policy.

Mission Statement

The Quinnipiac University School of Health Sciences offers a comprehensive spectrum of health science programs designed to address both the evolving health needs of society and the practical implementation of innovative methods and procedures based on the latest scientific discoveries. Building upon a solid foundation in the basic sciences and liberal arts, the School of Health Sciences offers a student-centered learning environment with interprofessional collaboration, innovative teaching and hands-on experience. The School of Health Sciences seeks to integrate theory, research and practice to best prepare health care practitioners and biomedical scientists who can demonstrate leadership in their disciplines and in the global community.

Vision Statement

The School of Health Sciences strives to develop forward-thinking, compassionate practitioners and scientists with broad professional competencies who can shape a rapidly changing biomedical and social landscape in pursuit of excellence in health care delivery. The school will be a nationally recognized school of choice for students, faculty and employers who share this vision.

Values Statement

The School of Heath Sciences values an interprofessional, client/patient-centered health care model and the translational science that supports it. Students are held to high ethical standards as they utilize critical thinking, scientific evidence and knowledge of diverse cultures and communities to improve health outcomes. We value an experiential learning environment where faculty integrate inquiry with their professional expertise and build collaborative relationships that empower students to solve health-related challenges in a socially responsible manner.