School of Communications

Center for Communications and Engineering

Ed McMahon Communications Center, Lender building

203-582-8492 (central office)

Administrative Offices

Title Name Phone Email
Dean Chris Roush 203-582-3641 christopher.roush@qu.edu
Associate Dean Terry Bloom 203-582-8440 terry.bloom@qu.edu
Assistant Dean for Academic Advising Danielle Reinhart 203-582-8501 danielle.reinhart@qu.edu
Director of Career Development Lila Carney 203-582-8358 lila.carney@qu.edu
Assistant Director for Academic Advising Rosa Nieves 203-582-3498 rosa.nieves@qu.edu
Director of Operations Peter Sumby 203-582-3413 peter.sumby@qu.edu
Assistant Director of Operations Michael Schleif 203-582-3120 michael.schleif@qu.edu
Director of Community Programming David DesRoches 203-582-7539 david.desroches@qu.edu
Quinnipiac in Los Angeles Program Lila Carney 203-582-8358 lila.carney@qu.edu

Departments

Department Chairperson Phone Email
Film, Television and Media Arts Frederick Staudmyer 203-582-6554 frederick.staudmyer@qu.edu
Interactive Media and Design Pattie Belle Hastings 203-582-8450 pattiebelle.hastings@qu.edu
Interactive Media and Design, Co-Chair
Ewa Callahan 203-582-3470 ewa.callahan@qu.edu
Journalism Molly Yanity 203-582-5031 molly.yanity@qu.edu
Media Studies (BA in Communications) Nancy Worthington 203-582-8059 nancy.worthington@qu.edu
Strategic Communication (BA in Advertising and Integrated Communications & BA in Public Relations) Hilary Fussell Sisco 203-582-3682 hilary.fussellsisco@qu.edu

 Graduate Programs

Title Name Phone Email
Graduate Program Director, Cinematic Production Management Liam O'Brien 203-582-8438 william.o'brien@qu.edu
Graduate Program Director, Interactive Media and Communications Phillip Simon 203-582-8274 phillip.simon@qu.edu
Graduate Program Director, Journalism and Sports Journalism Molly Yanity 203-582-5031 molly.yanity@qu.edu
Graduate Program Director, Public Relations Laura Willis 203-582-7805 laura.willis@qu.edu

Undergraduate Studies

School Requirements

Beyond the University Curriculum requirements, students pursuing a bachelor of arts degree in the School of Communications must complete the following:

  • 9 credits in the school-wide core
  • all major requirements (outlined below)
  • a minor (typically 18 credits) to be chosen in consultation with the student's adviser
  • 2 credits in the Seminars for Success: COM 101 and COM 201
  • 6 credits in the area of “global issues and cultures.” The School of Communications maintains a list of acceptable courses to satisfy this requirement.
  • two additional courses outside the School of Communications, one of which must be at the 200 level or higher.
  • Note: The BA and BFA degrees in film, television and media arts requires DR 150, DR 160 or DR 220 and one additional course outside the School of Communications at the 200-level or higher. Students pursuing the BFA degree are not required to complete a minor.

Academic Expectations: Students are expected to achieve a B- (2.67 GPA) or better in School of Communications courses during their first semester in the School of Communications. Students who do not meet this standard will be notified and are required to meet with a representative from the dean’s office to address their academic progress and develop a plan for improvement.

Transfer credits: The School of Communications accepts up to 18 transfer credits toward major requirements. Additional courses may apply to UC or elective courses as appropriate.

Advising

Academic advising in the School of Communications fosters a collaborative relationship between student and adviser. Our academic advising program is dedicated to guiding undergraduates in achieving intellectual and personal growth and preparing them for professional success in a diverse and changing global community. Faculty and staff of the School of Communications advise all students. During each student's undergraduate career, he or she is paired with a faculty adviser who will serve as a guide and mentor. Although the primary responsibility for course selection rests with the student, the adviser assists in reviewing the student's program plan and discussing course selection during a mandatory advising meeting each semester prior to course registration. Students are required to schedule and attend a meeting with their assigned adviser each semester by their advising deadline.

Note: The primary responsibility for the completion of all prerequisites for courses belongs to the student. Students who take courses without the proper prerequisites, or who complete the prerequisites after taking the courses, may lose credits toward their degree requirements. Students may not repeat a course for credit except to remove an F grade or, under special circumstances, to remove a C- or D grade in a school requirement, a prerequisite, or within the major.

Career Development

In the School of Communications, staff work with students to explore career interests through individual appointments and group sessions, guide them through the career development process, provide tools for students to network with alumni and employers, and assist with resume and cover letter writing, interview preparation, conducting a job search and graduate school applications. Staff instruct a career development course that provides a structured environment for students to develop their professional materials. Students can participate in experiential learning through internships and community service, as well as part-time and summer employment. Workshops on career-related topics are presented each semester, as well as programs connecting students with alumni and employers.