Academic Calendar

2018–19 Academic Calendar1

Fall 2018

August 18 Saturday New graduate student orientation
August 22–23 Wed–Thurs First-year student orientation, session VI
August 24 Friday Transfer student welcome, session II
August 24–26 Fri–Sun Welcome Weekend
August 27 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
August 28 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Aug 27-Oct 13)
August 31 Friday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 27-Dec 15)
September 3 Monday Labor Day—university holiday; no classes
September 8 Saturday All Saturday classes begin
September 19 Wednesday Yom Kippur—university holiday; no classes
September 21 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Aug 27-Oct 13) with a grade of "W"2
September 22 Saturday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 5–6 Fri–Sat Alumni Weekend
October 8–13 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
October 12–14 Fri–Sun Parents & Family Weekend
October 13 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Aug 27-Oct 13)
October 21 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 22 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (Oct 22-Dec 15)
October 23 Tuesday Add/drop registration ends for second 7-week online courses (Oct 22-Dec 15)
October 24 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
November 2 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 27 – Dec 15) with a grade of “W”2
November 10 Saturday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
November 16 Friday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (Oct 22-Dec 15) with a grade of "W"2
Nov 19–24 Mon–Sat No classes
Nov 22–23 Thurs–Fri Thanksgiving holiday—university closed
December 2 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
December 8 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes end
Dec 10–15 Mon–Sat Final examination period—undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
December 15 Saturday Online classes end
December 17 Monday Final grades due
Dec. 24–Jan. 1 Mon–Tue University closed for Winter Break

January Term 2019

January 2 Wednesday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
January 3 Thursday Add/drop registration period ends
January 11 Friday Last day to withdraw with a grade of “W” 2
January 18 Friday Classes end; final examinations
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day—university holiday; no classes3
January 22 Tuesday Final grades due

 Spring 2019

January 15 Tuesday New graduate student orientation
January 18 Friday New undergraduate student orientation
January 21 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day–university holiday; no classes3
January 22 Tuesday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
January 23 Wednesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Jan 22-Mar 9)
January 26 Saturday Saturday classes begin
January 28 Monday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 22 - May 11)
February 15 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Jan 22-Mar 9) with a grade of "W"2
March 3 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
March 4–9 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
March 9 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Jan 22-Mar 9)
March 11–16 Mon–Sat Undergraduate and graduate spring recess
March 18 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (Mar 18 – May 4)
March 19 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week courses (Mar 18 - May 4)
March 20 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
March 28 Thursday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 22 – May 11) with a grade of “W”2
March 30–31 Sat–Sun Admitted Student Days
April 5 Friday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (Mar 18 – May 4) with a grade of "W"2
April 19 Friday Good Friday—university holiday; no classes3
May 4 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate classes end; online classes end
May 6–11 Mon–Sat Final examination period—undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
May 10 Friday Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine Commencement3
May 11 Saturday Graduate and School of Law Commencement3
May 13 Monday Final grades due
May 18–19 Sat–Sun Undergraduate Commencement3

 Summer Orientation and Open House 2019

May 20 Monday New graduate student orientation
May 27 Monday Memorial Day—university holiday; no classes3
June 2 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
June 6–7 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session I
June 10–11 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session II
June 13–14 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session III
June 17–18 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session IV
June 20–21 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session V
June 24 Monday Transfer student welcome, session I

Summer I Term 2019

May 20 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
May 21 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
May 27 Monday Memorial Day–university holiday; no classes3
June 7 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (May 20 - Jun 21) with a grade of “W”2
June 17 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (May 20 – Jul 3) with a grade of “W”2
June 21 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
June 24 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
July 3 Wednesday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
July 4–5 Thurs–Fri Independence Day–university holiday; no classes3
July 8 Monday Last day to withdraw from 12-week courses (May 20 – Aug 9) with a grade of “W”2
Final grades due (7-week courses)
August 9 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (12-week courses)
August 12 Monday Final grades due (12-week courses)

Summer II Term 2019

July 8 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
July 9 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
July 26 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (Jul 8 – Aug 9) with a grade of “W” 2
August 5 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (Jul 8 – Aug 23) with a grade of “W”2
August 9 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
August 12 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
August 23 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
August 26 Monday Final grades due (7-week courses)

2019–20 Academic Calendar1

Fall 2019

August 17 Saturday New graduate student orientation
August 21–22 Wed–Thurs First-year student orientation, session VI
August 23 Friday Transfer student welcome, session II
August 23–25 Fri–Sun Welcome Weekend
August 26 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
August 27 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Aug 26 - Oct 12)
August 30 Friday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 26 - Dec 14)
September 2 Monday Labor Day—university holiday; no classes
September 7 Saturday All Saturday classes begin
September 20 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Aug 26 – Oct 12) with a grade of W"2
September 21 Saturday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 7–12 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
October 9 Wednesday Yom Kippur—university holiday; no classes
October 12 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Aug 26 – Oct 12)
October 20 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 21 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (Oct 21 – Dec 14)
October 22 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (Oct 21 - Dec 14)
October 23 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
November 1 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 26 – Dec 14) with a grade of “W”2
November 9 Saturday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
November 15 Friday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (Oct 21 – Dec 14) with a grade of "W"2
Nov 25–30 Mon–Sat No classes
Nov 28–29 Thurs–Fri Thanksgiving holiday—university closed
December 1 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
December 7 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes end
Dec 9–14 Mon–Sat Final examination period—undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
December 14 Saturday Online classes end
December 16 Monday Final grades due
Dec. 23–Jan. 3 Mon–Fri University closed for Winter Break

January Term 2020

January 6 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
January 7 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
January 13 Monday Last day to withdraw with a grade of “W” 2
January 17 Friday Classes end; final examinations
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day—university holiday; no classes3
January 21 Tuesday Final grades due

 Spring 2020

January 14 Tuesday New graduate student orientation
January 17 Friday New undergraduate student orientation
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day–university holiday; no classes3
January 21 Tuesday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
January 22 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Jan 21 - Mar 7)
January 25 Saturday Saturday classes begin
January 27 Monday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 21 - May 9)
February 14 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Jan 20 - Mar 7) with a grade of"W"2
March 1 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
March 2–7 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
March 7 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Jan 20 - Mar 7)
March 9–14 Mon–Sat Undergraduate and graduate spring recess
March 16 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (Mar 16 – May 2)
March 17 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (Mar 16 - May 2)
March 18 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
March 26 Thursday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 21 – May 9) with a grade of “W”2
March 28–29 Sat–Sun Admitted Student Days
April 3 Friday Last day to withdraw from for second 7-week online courses (Mar 16 – May 2) with a grade of "W"2
April 10 Friday Good Friday—university holiday; no classes3
May 2 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate classes end; online classes end
May 4–9 Mon–Sat Final examination period—undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
May 9 Saturday Graduate Commencement3
May 10 Sunday Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine and School of Law Commencement3
May 11 Monday Final grades due
May 16–17 Sat–Sun Undergraduate Commencement3

 Summer Orientation and Open House 2020

May 18 Monday New graduate student orientation
May 25 Monday Memorial Day—university holiday; no classes3
May 31 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
June 4–5 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session I
June 8–9 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session II
June 11–12 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session III
June 15–16 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session IV
June 18–19 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session V
June 22 Monday Transfer student welcome, session I

Summer I Term 2020

May 18 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
May 19 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
May 25 Monday Memorial Day–university holiday; no classes3
June 5 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (May 18 - Jun 19) with a grade of “W”2
June 15 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (May 18 – Jul 2) with a grade of “W”2
June 19 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
June 22 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
July 2 Thursday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
July 3–4 Fri–Sat Independence Day–university holiday; no classes3
July 6 Monday Last day to withdraw from 12-week courses (May 18 – Aug 7) with a grade of “W”2
Final grades due (7-week courses)
August 7 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (12-week courses)
August 10 Monday Final grades due (12-week courses)

Summer II Term 2020

July 6 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
July 7 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
July 24 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (Jul 6 – Aug 7) with a grade of “W” 2
August 3 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (Jul 6 – Aug 21) with a grade of “W”2
August 7 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
August 10 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
August 21 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
August 24 Monday Final grades due (7-week courses)

The university reserves the right to revise this calendar.