Academic Calendar

Summer 2020 Academic Calendar1

Summer Orientation 2020

June 8 - July 31 Pre-orientation webinars offered weekly2
August First-year student orientation2

Summer I Term 2020

May 18 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin. All Summer I classes delivered via online instruction
May 19 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
May 25 Monday Memorial Day – university holiday; no classes
June 5 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (May 18 – June 19) with a grade of W4
June 15 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (May 18 – July 2) with a grade of W4
June 19 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
June 22 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
July 2 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
July 3-4 Fri-Sat Independence Day — university holiday; no classes
July 6 Monday Last day to withdraw from 12-week courses (May 18 – Aug 7) with a grade of W4
Final grades due (7-week courses)
August 7 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (12-week courses)
August 10 Monday Final grades due (12-week courses)

Summer II Term 2020

July 6 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
July 7 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
July 24 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (July 6 – Aug 7) with a grade of W4
August 3 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (July 6 – Aug 21) with a grade of W4
August 7 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
August 10 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
August 21 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
August 24 Monday Final grades due (7-week courses)

2020–21 Academic Calendar1

Fall 2020

August 17 Monday Graduate Pathways to Success Program5
August 24 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin. All classes will be delivered via online instruction for the first week or two. Once all students complete state-required COVID testing, on-ground classes will begin6
August 25 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Aug 24 – Oct 10)
August 28 Friday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 24 – Dec 12)
September 7 Monday Labor Day — classes will be held. On-ground instruction begins by this date, if not before, assuming that testing has been completed for all students
September 18 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Aug 24 – Oct 10) with a grade of W4
September 28 Monday Yom Kippur — university holiday; no classes
October 4 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 5–10 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
October 9-10 Fri-Sat Alumni Weekend
October 10 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Aug 24 – Oct 10)
October 16-18 Fri-Sun Parents and Family Weekend
October 19 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (Oct 19 – Dec 12)
October 20 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (Oct 19 - Dec 12)
October 21 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
October 25 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 30 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 24 – Dec 12) with a grade of W4
November 8 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
November 13 Friday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (Oct 19 – Dec 12) with a grade of W4
November 23-24 Mon-Tue Classes will be held
November 24 Tuesday Students depart for Thanksgiving break and do not return to campus for the remainder of the term
November 25-28 Wed–Sat No classes
November 26–27 Thurs–Fri Thanksgiving holiday — university closed
November 30 Monday Classes resume and are delivered online only
December 5 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate classes, which are normally delivered on-ground, end
December 7–12 Mon–Sat Final examination period — online exams for undergraduate and graduate classes, which are normally delivered on-ground
December 12 Saturday Online classes end
December 14 Monday Final grades due
December 19–January 1 Sat–Fri University closed for Winter Break

January Term 2021

January 4 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
January 6 Wednesday Add/drop registration period ends
January 15 Friday Last day to withdraw with a grade of W4
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day — university holiday; no classes
January 22 Friday Classes end; final examinations
January 25 Monday Final grades due

 Spring 2021

January 18 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day — university holiday; no classes
January 22 Friday New undergraduate student orientation
January 25 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin. All classes will be delivered via online instruction for the first week
January 26 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (January 25 - March 13)
January 29 Friday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (January 25 - May 8)
February 1 Monday In-person instruction begins for all students.
February 19 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Jan 25 – March 13) with a grade of W4
February 28 Sunday Virtual Open House for prospective undergraduate students
March 8, 10–13 Mon, Wed–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
March 9 Tuesday Self-care day. University open, but no classes
March 13 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Jan 25 – March 13)
March 15 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (March 15 – May 1)
March 16 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (March 15 – May 1)
March 17 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
March 20 Saturday Virtual Admitted Student Experience
March 26 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 25 – May 8) with a grade of W4
April 2 Friday Good Friday — university holiday; no classes
April 9 Friday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (March 15 – May 1) with a grade of W4
April 21 Wednesday Self-Care Day; Bobcat Day; University open, but no classes. 7
May 1 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate classes end; online classes end
May 3 Monday Study Day with no final exams, no classes; University open 1
May 4–8 Tue–Sat Final examination period — undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
May 8-11 Sat-Tues Class of 2021 Commencement. Learn more about Class of 2021 Commencement at https://commencement.qu.edu/ 3
May 10 Monday Final grades due
May 15 Sun-Mon Class of 2020 Commencement. Learn more about Class of 2020 Commencement at https://2020commencement.qu.edu/ 3

Summer Orientation and Open House 2021

May 17 Monday Graduate Pathways to Success Program5
May 31 Monday Memorial Day — university holiday; no classes
June 10–11 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session I
June 14–15 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session II
June 17–18 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session III
June 21–22 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session IV
June 23 Wednesday Transfer student welcome, session I
June 24–25 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session V

Summer I Term 2021

May 17 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
May 18 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
May 31 Monday Memorial Day – university holiday; no classes
June 4 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (May 17 – June 18) with a grade of W4
June 11 Friday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (May 17 – July 2) with a grade of W4
June 18 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
June 21 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
July 2 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
July 5 Monday Independence Day — university holiday; no classes
July 6 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from 12-week courses (May 17 – Aug 6) with a grade of W4
Final grades due (7-week courses)
August 6 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (12-week courses)
August 9 Monday Final grades due (12-week courses)

Summer II Term 2021

July 6 Tuesday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
July 7 Wednesday Add/drop registration period ends
July 26 Monday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (July 6 – Aug 6) with a grade of W4
July 30 Friday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (July 6 – Aug 20) with a grade of W4
August 6 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
August 9 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
August 20 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
August 23 Monday Final grades due (7-week courses)

2021–22 Academic Calendar1

Fall 2021

August 23 Monday Graduate Pathways to Success Program5
August 25-26 Wed–Thurs First-year student orientation, session VI
August 27 Friday Transfer student welcome, session II
August 27-29 Fri–Sun Welcome Weekend
August 30 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
August 31 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Aug 30 – Oct 16)
September 3 Friday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 30 – Dec 18)
September 6 Monday Labor Day — university holiday; no classes3
September 16 Thursday Yom Kippur — university holiday; no classes
September 24 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Aug 30 – Oct 16) with a grade of W4
September 25 Saturday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 11-16 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
October 16 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Aug 30 - Oct 16)
October 24 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 25 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (Oct 25 – Dec 18)
October 26 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (Oct 25 - Dec 18)
October 27 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
November 5 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 30 – Dec 18) with a grade of W4
November 7 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
November 19 Friday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (Oct 25 – Dec 18) with a grade of W4
November 22–27 Mon–Sat No classes
November 25–26 Thurs–Fri Thanksgiving holiday — university closed
December 5 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
December 11 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes end
December 13-18 Mon–Sat Final examination period — undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
December 18 Saturday Online classes end
December 20 Monday Final grades due
December 24–January 1 Fri-Sat University closed for Winter Break

January Term 2022

January 3 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
January 4 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
January 13 Thursday Last day to withdraw with a grade of W4
January 17 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day — university holiday; no classes3
January 21 Friday Classes end; final examinations
January 24 Monday Final grades due

 Spring 2022

January 21 Friday New undergraduate student orientation
January 24 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
January 25 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Jan 24 – March 12)
January 28 Friday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 24 – May 14)
February 18 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Jan 24 – March 12) with a grade of W4
March 6 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
March 7-12 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
March 12 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Jan 24 – March 12)
March 14-19 Mon–Sat Undergraduate and graduate spring recess
March 21 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (March 21 – May 7)
March 22 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (March 21 – May 7)
March 23 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
April 1 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 24 – May 14) with a grade of W4
April 2-3 Sat–Sun Admitted Student Days
April 14 Thursday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (March 21 – May 7) with a grade of W4
April 15 Friday Good Friday — university holiday; no classes3
May 7 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate classes end; online classes end
May 9-14 Mon–Sat Final examination period — undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
May 13-14 Fri–Sat Graduate, Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine, and School of Law Commencement3
May 16 Monday Final grades due
May 21-22 Sat–Sun Undergraduate Commencement3

Summer Orientation and Open House 2022

May 23 Monday Graduate Pathway to Success Program5
May 30 Monday Memorial Day — university holiday; no classes3
June 5 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
June 9-10 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session I
June 13-14 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session II
June 16-17 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session III
June 20-21 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session IV
June 22 Wednesday Transfer student welcome, session I
June 23-24 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session V

Summer I Term 2022

May 23 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
May 24 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
May 30 Monday Memorial Day – university holiday; no classes3
June 10 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (May 23 – June 24) with a grade of W4
June 17 Friday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (May 23 – July 8) with a grade of W4
June 24 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
June 27 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
July 4 Monday Independence Day — university holiday; no classes3
July 8 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
July 11 Monday Last day to withdraw from 12-week courses (May 23 – Aug 12) with a grade of W4
Final grades due (7-week courses)
August 12 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (12-week courses)
August 15 Monday Final grades due (12-week courses)

 Summer II Term 2022

July 11 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
July 12 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
July 29 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (July 11 – Aug 12) with a grade of W4
August 5 Friday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (July 11 – Aug 26) with a grade of W4
August 12 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
August 15 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
August 26 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
August 29 Monday Final grades due (7-week courses)

The university reserves the right to revise this calendar.