School of Law Academic Calendar

2021–22 Academic Calendar

Summer 2021

May 10 Monday First day of classes
May 11 Tuesday Last day for add/drop
June 24 Thursday Last day of classes. Last day to withdraw from courses.
June 25 Friday Class makeup day
June 28–30 Mon–Wed Exam Period

Fall 2021

August 13-14 Fri–Sat First-Year Orientation
August 16 Monday 1L classes begin
August 16 Monday Business Literacy Bootcamp (for 2Ls)
August 18 Wednesday Upper-level classes begin
August 24 Tuesday Last day to add/drop classes
September 6 Monday Labor Day—university holiday; no classes
September 16 Thursday Yom Kippur—university holiday; no classes
November 23 Tuesday Classes meet on Thursday schedule; last day of 1L classes; last day for 1Ls to withdraw from courses
November 24–November 28 Wed–Sun Thanksgiving Recess
November 30 Tuesday Last day of upper-level classes; last day for upper-level students to withdraw from courses
December 1 Wednesday Class makeup day
December 2–15 Thurs–Wed Examination period
December 16 Thursday Exam makeup day for weather-related postponements; last day for graduating students to complete coursework
December 17–January 2 Fri–Sun Holiday Recess

Spring 2022

January 3 Monday Upper-level classes begin
January 3-4 Mon–Tues Gateway to Practice Program (for 1Ls)
January 5 Wednesday 1L classes begin
January 7 Friday Last day to add/drop classes
January 17 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day—university holiday; no classes
March 14-18 Mon–Fri Spring Recess
April 9 Saturday Transition to Practice for law students and recent graduates (optional)
April 15 Friday Good Friday—no classes
April 19 Tuesday Classes meet on a Friday schedule; last day of upper-level classes; last day for upper-level students to withdraw from courses
April 20 Wednesday 1L classes meet on a Monday schedule
April 21 Thursday 1L classes meet on a Tuesday schedule; last day of 1L classes; last day for 1Ls to withdraw from courses
April 22 Friday Class makeup day
April 25–May 6 Mon-Fri Examination period
May 6 Friday Last day for graduating students to complete coursework
May 16 Monday School of Law Commencement

* All references to “1Ls” and "2Ls" include both day and evening sections. Evening students are encouraged, but not required, to attend Business Literacy Bootcamp and the Gateway to Practice program.

Summer 2022

May 9 Monday First day of classes
June 23 Thursday Last day of classes
June 24 Friday Class makeup day
June 27-29 Mon–Wed Examination period