Academic Calendar

2019–20 Academic Calendar1

Fall 2019

August 17 Saturday New graduate student orientation
August 21–22 Wed–Thurs First-year student orientation, session VI
August 23 Friday Transfer student welcome, session II
August 23–25 Fri–Sun Welcome Weekend
August 26 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
August 27 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Aug 26 – Oct 12)
August 30 Friday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 26 – Dec 14)
September 2 Monday Labor Day — university holiday; no classes
September 20 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Aug 26 – Oct 12) with a grade of W2
September 21 Saturday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 4–6 Fri–Sun Parents and Family Weekend
October 7–12 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
October 9 Wednesday Yom Kippur — university holiday; no classes
October 12 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Aug 26 – Oct 12)
October 18–19 Fri–Sat Alumni Weekend
October 20 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 21 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (Oct 21 – Dec 14)
October 22 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (Oct 21 – Dec 14)
October 23 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
November 1 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 26 – Dec 14) with a grade of W2
November 9 Saturday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
November 10 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
November 15 Friday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (Oct 21 – Dec 14) with a grade of W2
November 25–30 Mon–Sat No classes
November 28–29 Thurs–Fri Thanksgiving holiday — university closed
December 7 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes end
December 9–14 Mon–Sat Final examination period — undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
December 14 Saturday Online classes end
December 16 Monday Final grades due
December 23–January 3 Mon–Fri University closed for Winter Break

January Term 2020

January 6 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
January 7 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
January 13 Monday Last day to withdraw with a grade of W2
January 17 Friday Classes end; final examinations
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day—university holiday; no classes3
January 21 Tuesday Final grades due

 Spring 2020

January 14 Tuesday New graduate student orientation
January 17 Friday New undergraduate student orientation
January 20 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day–university holiday; no classes3
January 21 Tuesday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
January 22 Wednesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Jan 21 – Mar 7)
January 27 Monday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 21 – May 9)
February 14 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Jan 21 – Mar 7) with a grade of W2
March 1 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
March 2–7 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
March 7 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Jan 21 – Mar 7)
March 9–14 Mon–Sat Undergraduate and graduate spring recess
March 16 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (Mar 16 – May 2)
March 17 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (March 16 - May 2)
March 18 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
March 27 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 21 – May 9) with a grade of W2
March 28–29 Sat–Sun Admitted Student Days
April 9 Thursday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (March 16 – May 2) with a grade of W2
April 10 Friday Good Friday — university holiday; no classes3
May 2 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate classes end; online classes end
May 4–9 Mon–Sat Final examination period — undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
May 8–9 Fri–Sat Graduate, Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine, and School of Law Commencement ceremonies3
May 11 Monday Final grades due
May 16–17 Sat–Sun Undergraduate Commencement3

 Summer Orientation and Open House 2020

May 18 Monday New graduate student orientation
May 25 Monday Memorial Day — university holiday; no classes3
May 31 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
June 4–5 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session I
June 8–9 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session II
June 11–12 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session III
June 15–16 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session IV
June 17 Wednesday Transfer student welcome, session I
June 18–19 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session V

Summer I Term 2020

May 18 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
May 19 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
May 25 Monday Memorial Day — university holiday; no classes3
June 5 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (May 18 – June 19) with a grade of W2
June 15 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (May 18 – July 2) with a grade of W2
June 19 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
June 22 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
July 2 Thursday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
July 3–4 Fri–Sat Independence Day — university holiday; no classes3
July 6 Monday Last day to withdraw from 12-week courses (May 18 – Aug 7) with a grade of W2
Final grades due (7-week courses)
August 7 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (12-week courses)
August 10 Monday Final grades due (12-week courses)

Summer II Term 2020

July 6 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
July 7 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
July 24 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (July 6 – Aug 7) with a grade of W2
August 3 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (July 6 – Aug 21) with a grade of W2
August 7 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
August 10 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
August 21 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
August 24 Monday Final grades due (7-week courses)

2020–21 Academic Calendar1

Fall 2020

August 15 Saturday New graduate student orientation
August 19–20 Wed–Thurs First-year student orientation, session VI
August 21 Friday Transfer student welcome, session II
August 21–23 Fri–Sun Welcome Weekend
August 24 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
August 25 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Aug 24 – Oct 10)
August 28 Friday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 24 – Dec 12)
September 7 Monday Labor Day — university holiday; no classes
September 18 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Aug 24 – Oct 10) with a grade of W2
September 28 Monday Yom Kippur — university holiday; no classes
October 4 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 5–10 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
October 10 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Aug 24 – Oct 10)
October 19 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (Oct 19 – Dec 12)
October 20 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (Oct 19 - Dec 12)
October 21 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
October 25 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
October 30 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Aug 24 – Dec 12) with a grade of W2
November 7 Saturday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
November 8 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
November 13 Friday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (Oct 19 – Dec 12) with a grade of W2
November 23–28 Mon–Sat No classes
November 26–27 Thurs–Fri Thanksgiving holiday — university closed
December 5 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes end
December 7–12 Mon–Sat Final examination period — undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
December 12 Saturday Online classes end
December 14 Monday Final grades due
December 24–January 1 Thurs–Fri University closed for Winter Break

January Term 2021

January 4 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
January 5 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
January 11 Monday Last day to withdraw with a grade of W2
January 15 Friday Classes end; final examinations
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day — university holiday; no classes3
January 19 Tuesday Final grades due

 Spring 2021

January 12 Tuesday New graduate student orientation
January 15 Friday New undergraduate student orientation
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day — university holiday; no classes3
January 19 Tuesday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin; online classes begin
January 20 Wednesday Add/drop registration period ends for first 7-week online courses (Jan 19 – March 6)
January 25 Monday Add/drop registration period ends for undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 19 – May 8)
February 12 Friday Last day to withdraw from first 7-week online courses (Jan 19 – March 6) with a grade of W2
February 28 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
March 1–6 Mon–Sat Midterm examination period for 100-level courses
March 6 Saturday Online classes end for first 7-week online courses (Jan 19 – March 6)
March 8–13 Mon–Sat Undergraduate and graduate spring recess
March 15 Monday Online classes begin for second 7-week online courses (March 15 – May 1)
March 16 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends for second 7-week online courses (March 15 – May 1)
March 17 Wednesday Midterm grades due for 100-level courses
March 20–21 Sat–Sun Admitted Student Days
March 26 Friday Last day to withdraw from undergraduate and graduate 15-week courses (Jan 19 – May 8) with a grade of W2
April 2 Friday Good Friday — university holiday; no classes3
April 9 Friday Last day to withdraw from second 7-week online courses (March 15 – May 1) with a grade of W2
May 1 Saturday Undergraduate and graduate classes end; online classes end
May 3–8 Mon–Sat Final examination period — undergraduate and graduate on-campus classes
May 7–8 Fri–Sat Graduate, Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine, and School of Law Commencement3
May 10 Monday Final grades due
May 15–16 Sat–Sun Undergraduate Commencement3

Summer Orientation and Open House 2021

May 17 Monday New graduate student orientation
May 31 Monday Memorial Day — university holiday; no classes3
June 6 Sunday Open House for prospective undergraduate students
June 10–11 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session I
June 14–15 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session II
June 17–18 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session III
June 21–22 Mon–Tues First-year student orientation, session IV
June 23 Wednesday Transfer student welcome, session I
June 24–25 Thurs–Fri First-year student orientation, session V

Summer I Term 2021

May 17 Monday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
May 18 Tuesday Add/drop registration period ends
May 31 Monday Memorial Day – university holiday; no classes3
June 4 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (May 17 – June 18) with a grade of W2
June 14 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (May 17 – July 2) with a grade of W2
June 18 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
June 21 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
July 2 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
July 5 Monday Independence Day — university holiday; no classes3
July 6 Tuesday Last day to withdraw from 12-week courses (May 18 – Aug 6) with a grade of W2
Final grades due (7-week courses)
August 6 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (12-week courses)
August 9 Monday Final grades due (12-week courses)

Summer II Term 2021

July 6 Tuesday Undergraduate and graduate classes begin
July 7 Wednesday Add/drop registration period ends
July 23 Friday Last day to withdraw from 5-week courses (Juyl 6 – Aug 6) with a grade of W2
August 2 Monday Last day to withdraw from 7-week courses (July 6 – Aug 20) with a grade of W2
August 6 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (5-week courses)
August 9 Monday Final grades due (5-week courses)
August 20 Friday Undergraduate and graduate classes end (7-week courses)
August 23 Monday Final grades due (7-week courses)

The university reserves the right to revise this calendar.